2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™

31 May - 30 June

2002 FIFA World Cup™

2002 FIFA World Cup Final Draw Procedure

Meeting on 28 November in Busan, the Organising Committee for the 2002 FIFA World Cup decided on the procedure according to which the Final Draw on 1 December will be done.

Geographical condition
A: According to FIFA’s principle, teams from the same confederation shall not be placed in the same group (A – H) as far as possible. The only exception to this rule is that a maximum of 2 teams from UEFA may be drawn into the same group, due to the higher number of teams from Europe.

B: The co-hosting situation (groups A to D in Korea, groups E to H in Japan) will be taken into account when placing the teams into the respective groups by ensuring that there is a balance of each confederations’ teams in Korea and Japan.

Allocation of Pots

The top 8 seeded teams are France (Cup-holder), Korea (co-host), Japan (co-host), Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Germany, Spain. According to the decision of the FIFA Organising Committee for the 2002 FIFA World Cup™, France has already been appointed as top-seeded team A1, Korea as D1 and Japan as H1.

The remaining 24 teams will be distributed into Pots 2, 3 and 4 as follows:

* Pot 2: 11 UEFA teams (Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, England, Republic of Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey) * Pot 3: 3 CONMEBOL teams, 2 AFC teams (total of 5 teams: Ecuador, Paraguay, Uruguay, China PR, Saudi Arabia) * Pot 4: 5 CAF teams and 3 CONCACAF teams (total of 8 teams: Cameroon, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia, Costa Rica, México, USA).

Pots for the group positions:

* Pot A: positions A2, A3, A4 * Pot B: positions B2, B3, B4 * Pot C: positions C2, C3, C4 * Pot D: positions D2, D3, D4 * Pot E: positions E2, E3, E4 * Pot F: positions F2, F3, F4 * Pot G: positions G2, G3, G4 * Pot H: positions H2, H3, H4 Special pots:

Pot i: Brazil, Argentina, Korea and Japan (non-UEFA seeded teams)

1. According to the match schedule, France, as title holder, will be seeded as A1, Korea Republic as D1 and Japan as H1.

2. The other five seeded teams will be drawn from Pot 1 and placed in the top position of groups A to H from left to right, ensuring that 1 CONMEBOL team is allocated to Korea and to Japan respectively.

3. As each team is drawn from the next pots, Pots 2, 3 and 4, a number will be drawn (A2, A3, A4 to H2 H3, H4) out of Pots A to H to determine the teams’ position in the group.

4. Pot 2, containing the UEFA teams, will be drawn with the first 8 teams immediately being placed into Groups A to H, from left to right.

5. The remaining 3 teams from Pot 2 will then be drawn and placed in the groups according to a separate draw ensuring that these remaining teams are not placed in a group already containing 2 UEFA teams. This is done by drawing a name out of the separate Pot i, with the seeded non-UEFA teams (Korea, Japan, Brazil, Argentina). The UEFA teams are then placed in the groups with the non-UEFA teams thus drawn, avoiding more than two UEFA teams being allocated to either Korea or Japan.

6. Pot 3, containing the 3 CONMEBOL and 2 AFC teams will then be drawn, ensuring that at least 1 CONMEBOL team and at least one AFC team are allocated to Korea and Japan respectively.

7. Pot 4, containing the 5 CAF teams and 3 CONCACAF teams will then be drawn, and the teams will be placed in position starting with Group A and finishing with Group H. It must be ensured that at least 2 CAF teams and 1 CONCACAF team are allocated to Korea and Japan respectively.