Brazil’s Audax/Corinthians were crowned CONMEBOL Libertadores Femenina champions for the first time on Saturday after edging a tense shoot-out victory over Chile’s Colo Colo in Asuncion.

Neither side was able to break the deadlock during a match in which Audax/Corinthians lost Rachel to a red card with six minutes remaining.

Nine penalties were converted with only Colo Colo’s Rocio Soto firing wide as Audax/Corinthians prevailed 5-4 in the shoot-out, denying the Chileans a second win after their 2012 triumph.

Brazilian clubs have now won seven of the nine titles, with Paraguay’s Sporting Limpeno victors last year.

Argentina's River Plate came third in the 12-team tournament thanks to a 2-1 win over local side Cerro Porteno


Recommended Stories