In recent years, recognition for the best players at the top of the women’s game has been growing. Those at the pinnacle of their profession, perhaps even more so than in the men’s game, transcend their sport and inspire young girls across the world.

Carli Lloyd was named The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016 in Zurich, recognised for her leadership and exploits on the pitch, and for being a role model off the field of play.

The ten woman shortlist for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2017 award has been compiled by a panel of experts representing all of FIFA’s confederations.

Women's football expert panel

  • Mia Hamm (USA)
  • Maia Jackman (NZL)
  • Nadine Kessler (GER)
  • Jacqueline Shipanga (NAM)
  • Sissi (BRA)
  • Sun Wen (CHN)

From that final shortlist, key members of the women’s footballing community - namely journalists, fans, national team coaches and captains - will vote for the winner, with the final three nominees to be announced at a later date.

All award winners will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 23 October.