Legendary German coach Silvia Neid was recognised as The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 for her remarkable achievements and aiding the development and growth of her discipline.

A list of ten candidates for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017 award has been compiled by a panel of experts representing all of FIFA’s confederations.

Women's football expert panel

  • Mia Hamm (USA)
  • Maia Jackman (NZL)
  • Nadine Kessler (GER)
  • Jacqueline Shipanga (NAM)
  • Sissi (BRA)
  • Sun Wen (CHN) 

From that shortlist, key members of the women’s footballing community - namely journalists, fans, national team coaches and captains - will vote for the winner, with the final three nominees to be announced at a later date.

All award winners will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 23 October.